This is a Christmas song written by John Rox in 1953 for a 10 year old girl named Gayla Peevey, a child star from Oklahoma in America. The song was very popular and soon Gayla got a real baby hippopotamus named Matilda! She sent it to the Oklahoma zoo.

*written = Past Participle of ‘write’ (‘yazılmış’)

I want a hippopotamus for Christmas!
Only a hippopotamus will do!

Don’t want a doll,
No dinky – tinker toy =>

Dinky logo used in the late 1960s.

I want a hippopotamus
to play with and enjoy!

will do = olur: ‘Sadece hipopotama razıyım’
doll = kukla, oyuncak bebek

 hippo_for_christmas

I want a hippopotamus for Christmas!
I don’t think Santa Claus will mind, do you?

He won’t have to use
A dirty chimney flue
Just bring him through the front door –
That’s the easy thing to do!

to mind = karşı çıkmak (Never mind!)
‘Bence Noel Baba karşı çıkmaz, ya sence?’

dirty = not clean
chimney flue = şömine bacası
through = vasıtasıyla / içerisinden
front door
‘Kirli şömine bacasını kullanması gerekmez, ön kapıdan getirin onu’

I can see me now on Christmas morning,
Creeping down the stairs…

Oh what joy and what surprise,
When I open up my eyes,
To see a hippo hero standing there!

to creep = sessizce hareket et10658mek
down the stairs =>

‘Şimdiden kendimi, Noel sabahı merdivenden sessizce inerken görebiliyorum…’

 hippo_christmas_by_artjenesis-d35r1j7
I want a hippopotamus for Christmas!
Only a hippopotamus will do!
No crocodiles, no rhinoceroses –
I only like hippopotamuses,
And hippopotamuses like me too!
 img21
Mom says a hippo would eat me up, but then
Teacher says a hippo is a vegetarian!
‘Annem diyor ki hipopotam beni yer, ama…’

vegetarian

There’s lots of room for him
In our two car garage,
I’d feed him there,
And wash him there
And give him his massage

room = place

to feed = to give food

I can see me now on Christmas morning,
Creeping down the stairs…
Oh what joy and what surprise,
When I open up my eyes,
To see a hippo hero standing there!
I want a hippopotamus for Christmas!
Only a hippopotamus will do!
No crocodiles
Or rhinoceroses-es
I only like hippopotamuses-es!
hippo-for-christmas

Original Gayla Peevey’s version with lyrics:

Original music video by Gayla Peevey:

A very cute home made video:


– Caroline, are you doing your Christmas list yet?
– Dad! I can’t think of anything…
– Well, why don’t you put down socks, underwear, T-shirts, stuff like that?
– Ufff… I can’t think of anything… I wonder what I really want… Ohh… I know!

A very funny animation verison:

A Great Big World’s cartoon version:

Original version with pictures here

